Anna Coddington's Track in Top 20 for the APRA Silver Scroll Award

APRA Silver Scroll Award – Top 20 Announced

APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) is proud to announce the Top 20 songs in line for the 2013 APRA Silver Scroll Award:




Baby Blue

Matthew Hope / Alexander Freer / Jonathan Pearce / Reuben Stephens 
(Centrifuge Music Publishing)

Artisan Guns

Bird In Hand

Anna Coddington (Mushroom Music NZ)

Anna Coddington

Blood Letter

Marlon Williams / Delaney Davidson 
(Native Tongue Music Publishing)

Marlon Williams & Delaney   Davidson

Cobra Jacket

Robin Hinkley


Complicated Man

Cy Winstanley

Tattletale Saints


Tom Scott / Lui Tuiasau / Hayden Dick (Kobalt Music Publishing Australia/Control/Control)

@ Peace


Karoline Tamati / Brent Park


Kingfisher Call Me

Ryan McPhun

The Ruby Suns

Living the Dream

Mahuia Bridgman Cooper / Katie Scott

Kittens of the Internet

Lose the Game

Lauren Barus

L.A. Mitchell


Matiu Walters / Ji Fraser / Christian McDonough / Eli Paewai


Medicine Man

Tama Waipara / Aaron Nevezie

Tama Waipara


Chelsea Metcalf / James Duncan



Ella Yelich-O'Connor / Joel Little (Control/EMI Music Publishing Australia)


Sad Sound Good

Matt Langley

Matt Langley


Brendan McKenna


Thames Soup

Luke Buda / Sam Scott / Thomas Callwood / Richie Singleton / Chris O'Connor / Conrad Wedde / William Ricketts 
(Native Tongue Music Publishing)

The Phoenix Foundation

The Listening Times

James Milne (Mushroom Music NZ Limited)

Lawrence Arabia

Wake Up

Aaradhna Patel / Evan Short / Peter Wadams (Universal Music/Control/Kobalt Music Publishing)


West Side Hori

Tipene Williams / Justin Ferguson (Woodcut Productions Limited)


The Top 20 songs were selected by an anonymous panel of judges (all significant APRA writer member themselves), and it’s now over to the wider APRA membership to decide their champion for 2013.  

“The journey of finding New Zealand's best song for 2013 has begun. Hundreds of songs have been whittled down to this Top 20 and the list is as diverse and exciting as ever.  Now it’s up to the songwriters themselves, APRA members up and down the country, to shine a light on one exceptional song.” – Anthony Healey, Director of NZ Operations for APRA.

The Top 20 can now be listened to via APRA’s website – - and APRA members can vote for their favourite song until Sunday 18th August.

The APRA Silver Scroll Award has been awarded since 1965 and is widely considered the most prestigious songwriting award in the country.  The award holds special significance as the only peer voted songwriting award in New Zealand.

The award will be presented at the Silver Scroll Awards – a highlight of the New Zealand music industry calendar. Alongside the APRA Silver Scroll Award, presentations on the night include the APRA Maioha and SOUNZ Contemporary Awards, recognising outstanding compositions in both Maori and Classical music respectively. The night will also include presentations of the Most Performed Works both locally and internationally, as well as an induction of a very special and much loved artist into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

For more information regarding the APRA Silver Scroll Awards visit:

2013 APRA Silver Scroll Awards – Tuesday 15th October 2013 – Vector Arena
Member voting is open Thursday 25th July – Sunday 18th August via

For media enquiries or accreditation requests, please contact Lauren Clough, Maiden New Zealand: / 021 223 6788

Posted: Thu 25 Jul 2013